PDA

View Full Version : Thoughts on Mercedes 190E 2.3-16v

Stirling
08-10-2012, 03:30 AM
I'm thinking about picking up an old Mercedes Cosworth. Has anyone owned one or had experience with one and would like to share their thoughts with a prospective Cossie owner?

Scooter
08-14-2012, 12:08 PM
I have no experience, nor have I ever owned a Mercedes. The thing that has kept me from ownership is the lack of info on the web about their cars. It seems that most Mercedes owners must not be DIYers like BMW owners. You can pretty much find a fix for any problem you have with older BM's, but it seems to be more difficult to find info when I've tried to do research.

Another thing to look into is parts availability and compatibility. People always seem to say that Merc (and especially AMG) parts are expensive. I always heard that about BMW's before too, but they don't seem that bad to me, so maybe Merc's are the same. You just have to shop around :)

With that said, I may pic up an AMG C43 if the right one comes up, and maybe you are in the same position with a 190E Cossie :)

admin
08-14-2012, 04:48 PM
I own two Mercs (300E and 500SL) and you are right the amount of DIY info on the web pales in comparison to BMW and VW. Especially the 500SL. Parts aren't expensive though, at least not if you shop around and go used as I often do. Of course they may be even cheaper if I were driving a Toyota but I have no experience with that.

Ah the C43. It seems they sold boatloads of those in Japan. I want my next car to be a manual though.

Scooter
08-14-2012, 09:06 PM
I own two Mercs (300E and 500SL) and you are right the amount of DIY info on the web pales in comparison to BMW and VW. Especially the 500SL. Parts aren't expensive though, at least not if you shop around and go used as I often do. Of course they may be even cheaper if I were driving a Toyota but I have no experience with that.